Fortnight 2015: An Introduction

Greetings, earthlings.

Hello, everyone!

This is Danielle Colburn, Fortnight’s blogger for the 2015 school year.

If you’ve just stumbled upon this blog and are confused, curious, and a little afraid, I’m happy to clear some things up. Fortnight Literary Press publishes poetry, prose, and art by and for the students of the University of Michigan. We meet every Sunday at 5 pm at Elixir Vitae on Maynard Street.

Fun fact about us: we would be tickled pink if we got to read or see your art.

Another fun fact about us: we would be tickled pinker if we got to read or see your art and get to know you at our weekly meetings.

So, it’s your call. Whichever one seems more your speed, the first step is submitting to us at fortnight-sub@umich.edu. (Just so you know, you don’t have to submit work to come hang out with us. If you just want to talk about some awesome art created by your peers, we’d love to have you).

I’ll be posting on a biweekly basis (or that’s the hope). I’ll post about writing, art, upcoming issues, events that seem fun, or anything else that might fit in here.

The ‘Stupendous Staff’ page should be updated soon, in case you want to do a little research before committing to spending an hour of your Sunday with some neat people in a really cute coffee shop.

A few quick things about me: I’m a sophomore. I’m majoring in English and minoring in Definitely Something, We’ll See What. I love to read (poetry, prose, blogs, dramatic Facebook statuses, etc), watch Disney movies, eat peanut M&Ms, and obsess over my collection of seven and counting succulents (if you don’t know, they’re adorable, hardy plants).

I’ll leave you with a video from one of my favorite Spoken Word poets. Sarah Kay is the poet who introduced me to Spoken Word. I watch her videos whenever I’m searching for inspiration or avoiding my homework. This is just one of many of her marvelous works, so if you, too, are searching for inspiration or avoiding your homework, check out her other videos. Let autoplay go on indefinitely. Click related videos until hours have passed without you realizing it. And once you’re inspired, submit your work to us.

Danielle

Leave a Reply

