K. Nelson: The Creative Process

I have always been fascinated by the creative process that artists go through when creating a piece, and was excited to be able to take a look in the mind of the ever talented Danny Roberts. Although he is unknown by many, I have enjoyed Roberts’ work for the past few years and have watched his career blossom. In this speed painting, the layers overlap and much of what he paints becomes obscured by an additional image. To some, this may seem counter-productive; why make something if it cannot be seen? Upon revealing the final product, however, it is evident that Roberts’ methods are what lend to a unique multi-dimensional effect. His style is his own and inspired me to experiment with my own process when creating a piece. While my work may not go quite as smoothly and elegantly ad Roberts, I stepped outside my comfort zone and ended up being glad I had.

Leave a Reply

